WEMO Application

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Moderator
Posts: 379
Registered: ‎08-08-2017

Re: Reset Light Switches + Neighbors?

@agran750mira

Did you try disabling and re-enabling your Remote Access or uninstall and re-install the WEMO App on your phone? If they still appear on the list, please send us an email along with the following:

 

-Phone Number
-Community Username
-Link to this post
-MAC Address of one active Wemo device
-The names of the devices that you wanted removed

Jo-Ann - 21744
WEMO Technical Support
WEMO Maker Inventor
Posts: 1,776
Registered: ‎06-14-2014

Re: Reset Light Switches + Neighbors?


@agran750mira wrote:

 

 

Footnote:  I live in the country and my neighbors are pretty far away. The motion cameras are listed as:  Barn Hall and chk house.  The light switches are listed as:  FRT PORCH BARN and BARN HALL.  I don't know of anyone with a barn other than us for a quarter mile!


It could be someone anywhere in the world.  Belkin has serious security bugs in their cloud that allows wemos to leak between user accounts (which they can't seem to fix and will not publicly admit).  Best you get in touch with them directly and immediately; if you're able to see other devices, it's quite possible others can see and control yours.

 

Ironically, while belkin can't figure out how to allow a single user to have wemos in more than one location, they can't seem to figure how out to prevent a user having someone else's devices in other locations!

Mike
Reliable and secure (Belkin cloud-free) home automation and remote access:
AutomationManager/HomeBridge/WemoLEDs/WemoHome/MoreInfo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-14-2018

Re: How to reset Wemo Light Switch

Hello,
I have a Wemo light switch and recently got new internet and a new router. I’ve tried all the suggestions on this form to no avail. The wemo light switch will not show up in my wifi. I’m loved my wemo light switch up until this problem!! Pls help!!
Moderator
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎08-22-2017

Re: How to reset Wemo Light Switch

@iceroaddude

 

Hi there! What is the LED status of the unit when attempt to connect it on the new Wi-Fi settings? Try to follow the steps found in this link to further isolate the setback: https://www.belkin.com/us/support-article?articleNum=8010...

 

You can also try to use another handheld device on the set up, reset/restore it once again, and reconfigure. If issue recurs, let's have our Escalation Engineers check the settings so we can get this issue sorted out. Reach out to us at WemoCares@belkin.com with your complete contact details (Full name, Phone number, and Location - City/State), Community Username, and the link to this post for our reference.

 

Carl_S 21985
WEMO Technical Support
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-16-2018

Re: Reset Light Switches + Neighbors?

[ Edited ]

I have uninstalled the app twice and when I reinstall, all of the previous Wemo devices show back up including mine.  I have pretty much quit using Wemo, but sometimes others turn "my" lights on and off.  I used to use IFTTT to turn them on and off, but don't do that anymore, although I wish I could.

Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-16-2018

Re: Reset Light Switches + Neighbors?

Thank you so much for fixing our account.  The other Wemo items are finally gone.  I'll bet the other account is glad to have our light switches off of their app, too.  Much appreciated...

WEMO Maker Inventor
Posts: 1,776
Registered: ‎06-14-2014

Re: Reset Light Switches + Neighbors?

That's good news. 

 

It's bad enough there's hackers constantly working hard to break into our IoT devices, to actually have this as a built in bug in belkin's service is truly horrifying.  I wish belkin would treat this huge security exposure with the urgency that it demands.

Mike
Reliable and secure (Belkin cloud-free) home automation and remote access:
AutomationManager/HomeBridge/WemoLEDs/WemoHome/MoreInfo
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-11-2019

Re: How to reset Wemo Light Switch

This may help you. I changed my wifi settings. After going through the reset procedure i was unable to get anywhere. I tried uninstalling the app and the reinstalling no luck. To fix the app not finding the switch after a reset go to your phones applications list under settings. Find the wemo app. Then clear the cache and or data.

For android its Phone Settings -> Apps -> WEMO app -> Clear Data

This will reset the app removing all previous settings for all switches that are stored in the app. This method does still require the switch to be reset by the reset button. After doing so simply clear the wemo application data and you will be able to start fresh.
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-17-2019

Re: How to reset Wemo Light Switch

Same here, new internet provider and nothing works, blinking orange not wifi detectable
Moderator
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎08-22-2017

Re: How to reset Wemo Light Switch


@Clegler wrote:
Same here, new internet provider and nothing works, blinking orange not wifi detectable

Hi there, Clegler. Did you also change your router, or does your ISP provided you with a modem/router? If so, you may need to reset the Wemo device to factory defaults, and set it up again as brand new. Please make sure to connect to the Wemo device's setup SSID first before launching the app. Let's see if that'll make any difference. 

Nestor - 21974
WEMO Technical Support