WEMO Application

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

I can't believe WEMO is this unreliable...

[ Edited ]

Seriously -- I've been developing enbedded network applications for 25 years and I think the only time I've seen a system this flaky is early on in the proof of concept stage.

I bought a WEMO Insight to test and see how easy it was to set up (not very,) and use (almost impossible.)

The switch is running the latest firmware (I think -- who knows?)and I'm running the WEMO app v1.16 on  an LG V10 running Android 6.0.

To start with, while setting up the switch, it keeps failing and tellimg me to connect to my home network.  Only after retrying many times (over a dozen) it finally finds the switch. And this is while connected to the switch's setup SSID.

Keep in mind that during the following, I was consistently pinging the switch on my home network at once per second.  I never dropped a ping.

Most of the time, using the WEMO Android app, I can't turn the switch on or off.  Occasionally the app will even tell me the switch cannot be found EVEN THOUGH I CAN STILL PING IT.

Anything else that requires talking to the switch is also very flakey, like reading the firmware version or getting the IFTTT code. I have to retry a lot and sometimes kill and restart the application.

Is it this bad for everyone else?  I can't imagine Belkin would sell any of these if everyone had the same experience I am having.  If it were my produvt, it wouldn't even make it out of the pre-Alpha stage of testing.

== RK

Re: I can't believe WEMO is this unreliable...

Yes....I have a v10 also and this barely works! I was able to find two wemo bulbs once in 3 days... And my Cree bulbs NEVER. I'm hoping it will run smoother once I connect everything to my smart things when it arrives...
for now it just doesn't work.
Dg2