WEMO Application

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Remote Access tied to SSID?

[ Edited ]
I'm new to WeMo and set up a WeMo switch using an iPhone. It wasn't a flawless setup as I had to unplug the switch once to get the app to see it, but it worked well enough and the iPhone was set up for remote access. I decided to add my iPad as well, but for some reason it automatically got added to remote access. At this point The iPhone and iPad could see each other in the remote access and could disable each other.

My home router is a dual band router so it has both a 2.4 and 5 Ghz Wifi network. I gave each a different SSID because the 2.4 Ghz has a longer range, but more interference so I like to manually switch to the 5 Ghz one. Doing this confuses remote access in the app and it will no longer see other devices. Things get really weird if you enable remote access on different networks on different devices.

Is remote access tied to the SSID and if so, why?

Edit:

I think I see what's happening. Apparently WeMo only lets devices connected to the same SSID as itself control it directly. As such, even though both Wifi networks have the same router, gateway and netmask (effectively one LAN), if I connect to the 5 Ghz network on my iOS device, all commands are sent as if I'm not home (I.e remote access).

Technically that's not 100% correct as I can register for remote access when my iOS device is connected to the 5 GHz network and that network's SSIDS will register and I can then use local control when connected to the 5 Ghz network, but not the 2.4 one. Basically I can only set up either 2.4 or 5 as local.

That makes no sense since the app should be able to see the WeMo devices on the LAN and control them directly. The SSID shouldn't matter remotely either as once the WeMo device is registered with the iOS device, it should work regardless of the SSID. What it's doing currently doesn't make much sense.

Re: Remote Access tied to SSID?