WEMO Application

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Wemo App lost devices again

I have reached a breaking point with the Wemo app and service.  I've been using the remote switches and plugs for over 3 years and iniitally had no issues.  Over the past year I have lost access to the devices multiple times via the app.  I often travel and am away from my home for more than a couple of weeks.  Whlie on the road my Wemo app forgets all of my devices.  Any idea why this is happening and if there is anything I can do to restore access while on the road.  Considering moving away from Belkin/Wemo at this point because this should not be this difficult.

Re: Wemo App lost devices again

Hi, kegman0406. Have you made sure that you have your Remote Access enabled on the Wemo App? Make sure that your network is registered. Once you have that enabled, you will have no problem with accessing them remotely. Try to also check that they are always online and connected to the network. We recommend that you are at home with the Wemo devices to perform the workarounds.

Jo-Ann - 21744
WEMO Technical Support

Not a solution. 1 of my 3 light switches still have remote access and today I lost one of my plugins. I can’t control them from alexia, SmartThings or the Wemo app. My routines still cycle on and off on time but no remote access

Found the answer for inability to connect remotely after an extensive internet search. If Wemo support could only provide this kind of help as succinctly...turn wifi off when away from home network to access devices remotely. It works for me!

[ Edited ]

Hi, Waltonfc1. What's the status of the light switch's LED indicator? To clarify, can you control the light switches using the Wemo app locally? When you say that you lost one of your plugs, do you mean that it is greyed out in the Wemo app or not shown at all? How far are the switches from the router?

You can try the workarounds found here. Let us know how it goes.

Reil – 22071