WEMO Application

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-13-2017

Re: Wemo switch becomes unresponsive "Not detected"

Mine were all suddenly not responsive on any of my devices today. While trying unsuccessfully at first to reset one to factory and not finding it, I looked over at my iPad and all were back but that one. Had I left it alone it would have come back like the rest did. Had to be server side as all was up here. But all working again now. Just some of the plugs are used because they are not easy to get too.
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-31-2017

Re: Wemo switch becomes unresponsive "Not detected"

When the devices become unresonsive you can't even turn them on and off via the switch button itself.  With the in-wall units this was a HUGE issue.  I would walk out to garage in pitch dark, push the switch to turn on light and nothing!  I would have to push tiny reset button on bottom of switch and wait (a minute or two) for switch to reboot, then I could turn the light on.  This is the same issue with the external plug type units.  Sure, the app says its offline as well, and maybe the app is part of it, but Alexa can't control it either.  In any case, it is certainly more than just the app.  If I get to the point of tossing these out I will ship them to you if you want to pay shipping.  I don't even feel comfortable ebaying them because I don't want to sell something to someone that I know is faulty.

 

Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-13-2018

Re: Wemo switch becomes unresponsive "Not detected"

I too am haveing the same issue with switches becoming unresponsive "Not Detected"  I have never had an issue with any of the switches. everything worked perfectly, that is until tonight.  I noticed that the lights in my foyer did not come on at the correct time, so I picked up my phone and opened the app only to notice that all 8 of my wemo switches were not being dected by the app, and they did not come on at the apointed time.  I have been reading the community messages, but I really need some assistance here.  I was planning on buying about 5 more of these switches but now I'm not so sure.  What is the process of rebooting the in wall switches?  I have already rebooted my router and phone, even though I knew there was not an issue with the router.

ICC
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-17-2018

Re: Wemo switch becomes unresponsive "Not detected"

Mine really started acting up today.

 

Funny thing is if my cell phone is on cellular, all switches are available and function properly.

If I enable wireless connection on my cell phone, many switches are missing.

 

I've got the latest firmware -WeMo-2.00.11054.PVT.OWRT-LS

I've got the latest app version  1.19.1(133)

 

I'vealready started using tp-link switches because they were less expensive.

Tp-Link has also come out with 3way switches.

 

I'm starting to think it would be easier to simply change out the WeMo switches for Tp-link.

Won't be cheap (I have a lot of WeMo) but might be worth it in the end.

WEMO Maker Inventor
Posts: 1,563
Registered: ‎06-14-2014

Re: Wemo switch becomes unresponsive "Not detected"

Might be worth trying AutomationManager (my app), it works with tp link and wemo together and could preserve your investment. No risk if you don't like it as I offer a full refund
Ugh
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-04-2018

Re: Wemo switch becomes unresponsive "Not detected"

Well, the Insite worked for a week. Left for work, started getting intermittent connection issues but they would only last a minute. Now all of a sudden it was permanently not detected for over a day. Tried to disable then re-enable remote controlling as suggested here and other places. The app erased all memory of the home wifi network AND the info of the plug itself. Now I’m SOL until I return home.

What an utter piece of garbage.
Ugh
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-04-2018

Re: Wemo switch becomes unresponsive "Not detected"

And I know it isn’t the internet connectivity because I’m still able to remotely connect to my PC.

Will be returning this and looking for a reliable alternative that works out of the box.
Highlighted
Moderator
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎08-08-2017

Re: Wemo switch becomes unresponsive "Not detected"

@Ugh

 

Before you decide in returning your Insight Switch, allow us to check on this. Make sure that you're connected first on your home network, then disable and re-enable the Remote Access and check that your network is assigned on the App. Also, how far is the switch from the router? Try to plug the device closer from the router, then try to check if the same setback occurs.

Jo-Ann - 21744
WEMO Technical Support