WEMO Hardware

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Highlighted

How I got my Wemo Dimmers to connect to WiFi

The solution I found is at the bottom of the post, if you want to skip.  I put the extra details in case others have tried the same things, and are trying to find similar situations.

So, I purchased 2 new Wemo dimmers and I had a terrible time trying to connect them to WiFi.  I tried using both Android and Apple devices.

To give a bit of background info, I have a higher-end ASUS router that does dual-band routing, as well as lots of advanced options.  I'm also quite technologically savvy as I work in the IT field, so I generally know what I'm doing when it comes to my tech.  Most of my devices run on the 5Ghz network, but I have a few older devices that need the 2.4Ghz network.

Every time it would try to connect over WiFi, it would either drop the network on the device and try to connect to a different one, messing the process up, or it would tell me that it couldn't connect to my home network.  I tried all of the basic recommendations about turning off smart network switch on my phone, resetting the dimmer switches, dropping all other networks save for the Wemo one, etc...

What I ended up trying was flipping my 2.4Ghz network to open and retrying the setup.  That ended up working for both dimmer switches.  However, leaving one of my networks open isn't the ideal solution.  I figured I would not broadcast the network name and enable MAC filtering to prevent anyone from just hopping on and using the network.  However, once I did those things, I couldn't get the dimmers to connect to the network after that.  I verified the network name multiple times, but it just wouldn't connect.  I also made sure that I added the right MAC addresses to the filtering list and ensured that it was set to only allow the ones in the list.  Still no dice...