WEMO Hardware

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-29-2015

Re: WEMO app can't find devices anymore

I'm having the same problem with my WEMO devices when I am connected to my home wireless network.  I have gone through all of the troubleshooting provided in multiple forums with no luck for my 25 WEMO devices.  Has anyone else made the switch to TP-Link at this point?  I'd like to hear if those switches work better before I replace all of my devices.  Thanks for any feedback.

Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-15-2015

Re: WEMO app can't find devices anymore

Yep, I’m migrating away from Wemo to TP-Link hardware.

Cheaper and FAR more reliable.

I’ve pretty much given up on Wemo - I have a $100 dinner sitting on my workbench because I got tired of having to flip the breaker to reset it every few days, and all day yesterday I couldn’t access any of my Wemo hardware remotely.

I’m done.
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-15-2015

Re: WEMO app can't find devices anymore

*dimmer, not dinner...
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-29-2015

Re: WEMO app can't find devices anymore

Good to hear they are more reliable.  I think I'm done at this point as well.  These were suppose to be fun and make life easier....LOL!!

Posts: 15
Registered: ‎05-15-2015

Re: WEMO app can't find devices anymore

I have a bunch of TP-Link switches and a variety of HS110 modules for energy monitoring. They just work, all the time, every time.
Highlighted
WEMO Maker Inventor
Posts: 1,776
Registered: ‎06-14-2014

Re: WEMO app can't find devices anymore

AutomationManager (from google play) is an android app I've built to get wemo's to work reliably.  It runs as a local server/hub and talks directly to the wemo's with recovery built in.  You run it on a low end anrdoid device (about $20-$30 from bestbuy etc).  There's a bridge to homekit as well if you use an iphone, and it hooks up to your google account so you can use a web browser as well.  It enables reliable voice using google home, alexa, and siri, and remote access.

 

It supports TP Link, hue, lifx, and a few others (https://sites.google.com/site/mppsuite/wemomanager/features) so it might be worth a few bucks to try out AM first or as well (TP Link has some issues too, esp the bulbs, and AM can help) before dumping $100's of wemos.  There's a refund procedure in the howto if you don't like AM, and email support if you have any trouble getting things going.

Mike
Reliable and secure (Belkin cloud-free) home automation and remote access:
AutomationManager/HomeBridge/WemoLEDs/WemoHome/MoreInfo