WEMO Hardware

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Wemo Switch - Flashing amber light, but the device works as intended

Hi there,

I am wondering if anyone has experienced this:

After an update my Wemo Insight is blinking the amber WiFi light at the rate of about one flash per second.

While doing this the device works fine; I can trigger the on/off and timers are working as intended.

The device is found in the normally in the app.

I am pretty new to this and wondering if I should leave it this way or....?

Re: Wemo Switch - Flashing amber light, but the device works as intended

Hello Radar224

The flashing amber light means that your WeMo is not connected to your local area network. Therefore it's surprising that it's working. This issue has arisen before though. Check out this link to a previous post that might throw some light on the matter for you:

http://community.wemothat.com/t5/WEMO-Hardware/WeMo-Light-Switch-Blinking-Amber-but-it-is-connected/...

Regards

Pete

Thanks Pete,

It's definetely working. 

I attempted a reset and reinstall of the app software but still the same.

I am wondering if I could force the insight to redo the firmware update.

It's on 2.0010626 PVT right now. Is there a newer one available?

Thanks for the link though!

Marinus

[ Edited ]

Hello Marinus

I'm afraid that I only have WeMo switches and no insights, so I don't know what the latest firmware upgrade is for Insights. There's no way to force an upgrade as far as I'm aware either. You have to wait for the app to offer it.

Sorry that I can't help further, but I'm sure someone else will join your thread and give you the benefit of greater experience than mine. We have quite a few WeMo gurus contributing to these pages.

It might be worth a call to WeMo support at Belkin if one of the support team does not join in here.

Regards

Pete