WEMO Maker

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Highlighted
RG

Rolling Shutters - Need Help

Hey all, 

I am relatively new to the smart home world, but am enjoying the learning process. 

I'm trying to get one of our rolling shutters on an automated system. My goal is to be able to control them from my phone and have them automatically open and shut at a given time each day. It seems the Wemo Maker has the ability to do this. 

The shutters are already wired into our home, and as of right now we control them through a 3 way switch (Motor Direction 1, Neutral and Motor Direction 2). Motor Direction 1 and Motor Direction 2 both shut off when the shutters reach the top-most and bottom-most position. The switch we are using right now is a light switch that has an up position, a middle position and a down position. We can certainly get a new switch if needed.

Motor Direction 1 puts out about 210 amps on the way up. Neutral puts out 0 amps. Motor Direction 2 puts out about 180-190 amps on the way down. 

As far as the wiring, I took the switch out of the wall and we have 3 wires that are connected. Wire 1 is black, Wire 2 is red, and Wire 3 appears to be a copper wire with a black casing (I'm guessing this is the ground wire). There are a few other wires in there, but I don't know what they are used for. 

Any help is appreciated, especially step by step instructions. The only electrical work I have ever done has been changing light switches or power outlets. 

Thanks!!!

WEMO Maker Inventor

Re: Rolling Shutters - Need Help

210A is a lot, you may have trouble finding a reliable way to switch that much.. At what voltage?

The easiest thing that comes to mind is to use a maker to switch a relay board (5v relays are a couple of bucks off of ebay or any hobby store).  Use the NO and NC terminals to switch the power through the COM terminal since the up/down motors are autostop.